Harry Potter Theme Party – Diagon Alley (pt.4)

After quidditch it was time for our trip to Diagon Alley. I didn’t want everyone to go in at the same time, but rather have space and time to enjoy the alley at their own pace, so people went in groups of two, three or four. To save some time it could be two groups in the alley at the time, and therefore I “hired” my mother to work in Gringotts and in the apothecary, while I worked at Ollivanders, Weasleys’ Wizard Wheezes and Flourish&Blotts.

First stop was Gringotts where they got wizarding money to splurge in all the shops. From there they went to the apothecary where they could buy either Veritaserum, Amortentia or Polyjuice Potion (Muggles would call it Sprite with food colouring though).

IMG_5052

As decoration I had different kind of bottles which I filled with different things from our cabinets and garden. I thought it looked really cool at least.

Next stop was Ollivanders. I made loads (!) of wands, and let everyone pick the one they liked the best. I also made labels for every wand, and a wand box for every guest. When they had picked one I put it in a box, and gave it to them in exchange for two galleons.

IMG_5034 IMG_5041
Here I also had my Elder Wand at display as you can see above. 

From Ollivanders they moved over to Weasleys’ Wizard Wheezes (Try to say that five times fast…). I made some products known from the books and films, and added some brightly coloured items and it was a hit.

IMG_5050IMG_5049

The main product here was Fever Fudge, which is the blue and red items in the picture above. I used the recipe on Fever Fudge from Let’s Eat Fiction, and it was great. People had to ask twice, like “Are you serious? Are we to eat that?!” ’cause the way it looks, but everyone liked it. In addition people could get something from any of the other products, like U-No-Poo (Apple Jelly Beans), Weasleys Wonderous Wands (glowsticks), Cupid Crystals (heart-shaped bottle of soap bubbles), etc.

Last stop was Flourish & Blotts, the book store. I had my Harry Potter-related books as display, and for sale I had “The Standard Book of Spells” as I said in the invitation (I’ll show these in a later post) and as a surprise for the guest I had made “The Monster Book of Monsters” out of notebooks for everyone.

While waiting for the others to be done they could wait in the “common room”. I was thinking of making “The Leaky Cauldron” as the waiting area, but decided to not give myself more to do.

Tomorrow I tell you about the rest of the theme party, which includes Hogwarts and Hogsmeade.

Leave a Reply

