Harry Potter Theme Party – pt. 5

Eventually everyone got their new wands and books, meaning it was time to go to Hogwarts. I handed out tickets for the Hogwarts Express, and we went to Platform 9 3/4. From there we headed to Hogwarts, where the sorting ceremony found place.

IMG_4758 IMG_5054

The sorting ceremony consisted a stool, my sorting hat and a box of buttons. People were called out from youngest to oldest, and when their name was called they sat down on the stool. Then I held the sorting hat over their head, and they pulled a button out of a box. The buttons had the different houses on them, so if you picked a Ravenclaw-button, you were in Ravenclaw. I bought the buttons from SheepButtons on Etsy, along with some other Harry Potter-themed buttons as well.

IMG_5064 IMG_5810

When everyone was sorted it was time for the welcoming feast in the great hall. I did it quite simple and just had a barbeque with hamburgers and hot dogs. Instead I put my time into making decorations for the great hall. I made a sign, banners for each house, place cards and a tablecloth made out of book pages. I might make a post about the decorations I made later.

After dinner it was time to hunt down dark lords and the like, meaning we would do just as Harry, Hermione and Ron, and hunt down horcruxes. I hid the Slytherin Locket, the Hufflepuff Cup, the Ravenclaw Diadem and Nagini in the house. Then every house teamed up and tried to find them. I had one house at the time searching, and took the time. I hid the horcruxes in exactly the same place every time, and told them not to tell the others anything about where they were hidden, or about how well or bad they did. Hufflepuff was the fastest house and as the reward I had time turners for every member of the house (Bought off Ebay. They are quite cheap, but surprisingly good quality!).

Then it was time for Hogsmeade. First we went to Three Broomsticks where we could “buy” cake and ice cream. I made cauldron cakes – chocolate muffins which I dipped in melted chocolate (the bottom half of it). I hollowed out the top, put chocolate icing around the brim, and had chocolate mousse in center. I aslo made Harry’s birthday cake, made for him by Hagrid. Mine consisted of chocolate cake, with raspberry icing.

IMG_5087 IMG_5089

After a while I turned Three Broomsticks into Honeydukes, and let everyone use the rest of their wizarding money to buy candy.

IMG_5092

I had of course made boxes of Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans (and filled them with assorted Jelly Belly Beans, not the actual Every Flavour Beans, ’cause they are expensive…). I also had chocolate frogs, golden snitches and sherbet lemon. Then I also had a lot of other candy, which were renamed or just mixed up and called “muggle candy”.

After that I had nothing more on the schedule, and called it a night. We ventured back into the muggle world to enjoy our candy and just do as we wanted.

Leave a Reply

